Death Cafe

Tea cup with a floral skull design on it filled with dark liquid and saucer.

This will be a space to come and talk about death, dying, bereavement and loss*.

A Death Cafe isn’t meant to be morbid, but it provides a space for talking about what for too many people is a taboo topic and one that many in society shy away from. In the midst of the current climate, this Death Cafe event will be held via Zoom. Attendees will receive a link and a password to access the event.

*Please note, this is not intended as therapy. Please see www.deathcafe.com for general information on Death Cafes and support sources below.

Bereavement Sources of Support

Local Support: Bradford

Bradford Bereavement Support. https://www.bradfordbereavement.org.uk/ Provide bereavement counselling for people in the Bradford area. 01274 619 522. info@bradfordbereavement.org.uk

Cruise Bereavement Care. Craven and Bradford District. https://www.cruse.org.uk/get-help/local-services/yorkshire-and-humber/craven-and-bradford-district. Helpline and referrals: 01756 797 799 (Mon 2-4pm, Wed 5-7pm, Fri 10-12noon). Provide bereavement support from a trained volunteer.

University of Bradford, Student counselling 01274 235750 counselling@bradford.ac.uk

University of Bradford, Chaplaincy 07754 715584 chaplain@bradford.ac.uk

http://www.palliativecare.bradford.nhs.uk/Pages/UsefulLinks.aspx

http://www.bradfordcancersupport.org.uk/

Sheffield

Cruise Bereavement Care. Sheffield. sheffield@cruise.org.uk / 0114 249 3328. Provide bereavement support from a trained volunteer.

Bereavement Support – Cathedral House, Sheffield. 0114 272 2522. office@stmariecathedral.org.

Manchester

Cruise Bereavement Care Manchester. manchester@cruise.org.uk / 07377 710 382. Offer support and help to those who are grieving.

The Compassionate Friends. Support bereaved parents and their families. Evening support group in Didsbury 7-9pm, second Tuesday of the month.

National Support services:

Cruse Bereavement Care. https://www.cruse.org.uk/. A national helpline that offers support, advice, and information when someone dies. Free helpline number: 0808 808 1677. Monday and Friday 9:30-5pm.Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday 9:30-8pm (excluding bank holidays)

Lullaby Trust. https://www.lullabytrust.org.uk/. National helpline that provides a confidential support service for families who experience the sudden loss of a baby or toddler. Helpline: 0808 802 6868 (Monday – Friday: 10am-5pm, Weekends and public holidays: 6pm-10pm). support@lullabytrust.org.

Sue Ryder: Advice and Support/ coping with grief http://support.sueryder.org/

http://www.samaritans.org / 116 123 (UK – direct dial, free call)

Child Bereavement UK. https://www.careforthefamily.org.uk/. Provides support for the death of a child of any age. Helpline: 029 2081 0800 (Monday 10am-5pm, Tuesday-Thursday 9am-5pm, Friday 9am – 4:30pm). mail@cff.org.uk

mariecurie.org.uk / 0800 090 2309

Blue Cross for Pets. https://www.bluecross.org.uk/. Offers support to anyone grieving for the loss of a pet. Helpline: 0800 096 6606 (Monday-Sunday 8:30am-8:30pm). pbssmail@bluecross.org.uk

http://www.carersresource.org/  

http://www.winstonswish.org.uk/

Further sources of interest http://www.dyingmatters.org/    http://www.livinganddyingwell.org.uk/ http://www.ncpc.org.uk/ http://continuingbonds.live/ http://deathcafe.com/

Compiled by the Continuing Bonds project: continuingbonds@bradford.ac.uk (please note this email address is not staffed 24/7). Dr Karina Croucher, k.croucher@bradford.ac.uk

Duration
120
Genre